Google Photography Prize Contest

   a. Add the normal photographic labels
   b. Include a paragraph or two about how you created your entry.
c. Add a paragraph about the contest you chose and why you chose it.
   d. Add a link to the contest website.
   e. Include the date you submitted your entry.

Here are my four entries to the Google Photography Prize Contest:

Harvest Night: 10-02-2011; 7:24pm; Benson, UT; f/5.6; 1/60; NIKON D80
Harvest Season: 09-26-2011; 7:06am; Near Sugar City, ID; f/5.6; 1/160; NIKON D80
Cabin in the Sun: 10-20-2011; 6:14pm; Bannack, MT; f/11; 1/200; NIKON D80
Puddle World: 10-10-2011; 8:29am; Rexburg, ID; f/3.8; 1/100; NIKON D80

All of these pictures are on my blog under the weeks that I shot them (or thereabouts). Even though I explain the major edits I did to these photos in those posts. I actually had to do a couple more things to some of these pics before sending them in. In Harvest Night i had to clean up some weird pixels. I then also reduced the noise and lightened it with levels. In Harvest Season I sharpened the subject and turned the type layer off. Cabin in the sun I brightened it with levels. I didn’t do anything more to this pic.

I chose these photos because they are some of my favorite shots from the semester. I would have loved to go out and shoot pictures for the contest but I just didn’t have time to do that. These pictures are some of my resent best, that don’t have models, and applied to the topic. They chose some cool topics, I just didn’t have any pictures that fit the other topics.

 
This contest is for any student enrolled in Collage or University. They had 10 different categories. I chose to do Sound/Silence. Their caption for this category was “What does sound look like? Can you show us in a photo?” I went with the silence side of things and chose my nice nature shots from this semester. It is interesting, to submit the photos you put them on your Google+ account with labels. Here is a link to the contest’s website. Google Photography Prize Contest The largest reason I entered this contest is because it was free. I also keep the copyrights to my photos and I am interested in getting more acquainted with Google+ as well. I entered the competition on 12-14-11.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment